Tradition • Character • Service

Tradition • Character • Service

Wednesday, November 14, 2007

Nicolet Named GLIAC Player of the Year, 4 others 1st Team

Hillsdale quarterback Mark Nicolet has been named 2007 GLIAC Player of the Year.

Receivers Aaron Waldie and Nick Gurica join Nicolet who was also named to the all-league 1st team as a qb.

Defensively, LB Tom Korte and punter Matt Vanover are first teamers as well.

Chargers named to the second team include OL Jared Veldheer and DL Eric Weber.

Honorable Mention goes to Chet Crowley (Sr./OL), Josh Hutchison (Sr./DB), Vinnie Panizzi (So./RB), Matt Patillo (So./TE),
Dan Staph (Sr./OL), Josiah Swartz (Jr./OL)


Anonymous said...

Congratulations To Everyone You guys were all deserving.

Anonymous said...

I guess the politics caught up to One Charger.

PETRO Got HOSED! He led the GLIAC in Scoring among ALL KICKERS, he was the only kicker in the top 10 in scoring among all positions #9, He had 70% more PAT attempts 55 for 56 than Burr 1st team with 34 for 34, He was 55 for 56 on PAT's with one blocked and after the block he made 29 in a row, He blew away Yates in Every Category and he was 2nd team, the Honorable mention Stephens from Findlay didn't even have 10 FG attempts 8 for 9 and only played in 8 games and he didn't even figure into the top 10 in PAT's he was 12 for 14, Petro finished the season in all of NCAA ranked 40 out of 500 ranked in # of Field Goals and ranked 48 out of 500 in all of NCAA in scoring.

The consolation is that the same coaches that made these selections for kickers were the same coaches that picked Hillsdale to finish #9 in the conference.

Great Season Mark.

Anonymous said...

Otterbein got Hosed too!

Otter and his staff produced the one of the single best seasons in Hillsdale history and his players and Offensive schemes broke records that have been in place for a while in the GLIAC. His Determination and Grit lead the way through all the neysayers and the coaches poll directly to the top 3 in the conference, after being picked to finish 9th in the conference, and 4 points from the playoffs. I don't know if he cares much my guess is he would rather see his players get the accolades, but for the Coach of the Year honor to go to anyone other than Otter is simply uneplainable.

Great Year Coach Otterbein!
Great Season Chargers!
Thanks Alot! It was a great ride!

Andy Losik said...

I will take Otter over Chuck any day!

Thanks Keith!

Search The News and Comment

The Web News and Comment

Blog Archive

Google Analytics