Tradition • Character • Service

Tradition • Character • Service

Friday, January 29, 2010

D2football Final Top 25, All Americans

Hillsdale College made 2009 its most prestigious year ever in terms of recognition by, the authority on Division II football.

As a team, the Chargers finished 10th in the final poll, a spot above where the coaches ranked them in the final AFCA poll at 11.

Jared Veldheer is a first team All American while Drew Berube is a second teamer. Final Media Top 25 Poll (1/25)
1. Northwest Missouri State (14-1)
2. Grand Valley State (13-2)
3. Central Washington (12-1)
4. Carson-Newman (11-3)
5. North Alabama (11-2)
6. Minnesota-Duluth (11-2)
7. California (PA) (11-4)
8. Abilene Christian (9-4)
9. West Liberty State (11-2)
10. Hillsdale (10-3)
11. Tarleton State (10-3)
12. Nebraska-Kearney (11-2)
13. Minnesota State-Mankato (10-2)
14. Arkansas Tech (9-3)
15. Shippensburg (9-3)
16. Texas A&M-Kingsville (9-3)
17. Midwestern State (9-3)
18. Saginaw Valley State (9-3)
19. West Alabama (8-5)
20. Edinboro (9-4)
21. Tuskegee (10-2)
22. Missouri Western (9-3)
23. Washburn (8-3)
24. North Carolina-Pembroke (9-2)
25. Central Missouri (8-3) Offensive Player of the Year
Joique Bell, Wayne State (MI) Defensive Player of the Year
Mike Johnson, North Alabama Coach of the Year
Mel Tjeerdsma, Northwest Missouri State

D2Football.Com All-America Team

First Team
QB - Blake Bolles, Northwest Missouri State (JR)
RB - Joique Bell, Wayne State (MI) (SR)
RB - Isaac Odim, Minnesota-Duluth (JR)
WR - A.J. Jackson, California (PA) (SR)
WR - Jake Soy, Northwest Missouri State (SO)
TE - Ryan Travis, West Liberty State (JR)
OL - Tobias Lemke, Minnesota-Duluth (SR)
OL - Nick McDonald, Grand Valley State (SR)
OL - Jared Veldheer, Hillsdale (SR)
OL - Tony Washington, Abilene Christian (SR)
OL - J'Marcus Webb, West Texas A&M (SR)

DL - Xavier Brown, C.W. Post (JR)
DL - Montrell Craft, North Alabama (SR)
DL - Danny Richard, Grand Valley State (JR)
DL - Cedric Thornton, Southern Arkansas (JR)
LB - John Jacobs, Saginaw Valley State (SR)
LB - Mike Johnson, North Alabama (SR)
LB - Buddy Wood, Central Washington (SR)
DB - Quinton Andrews, North Alabama (SR)
DB - Jake McGuckin, Grand Valley State (SR)
DB - Akwasi Owusu-Ansah, Indiana (PA) (SR)
DB - Quintez Smith, Shaw (SR)

AP - Kelvin Rodgers, Minnesota State-Mankato (SR)
PK - Garrett Lindholm, Tarleton State (SR)
P - Will Batson, North Alabama (SR)


Second Team
QB - Zach Amedro, West Liberty State (JR)
RB - LaRon Council, Northwest Missouri State (SR)
RB - Buck Wakefield, Carson-Newman (SR)
WR - Thomas Mayo, Concord (SO)
WR - Kashif Walls, West Liberty State (SR)
TE - Mike Higgins, Nebraska-Omaha (JR)
OL - Brett Grozinger, Northwest Missouri State (JR)
OL - Jack Hiett, Nebraska-Kearney (SR)
OL - David Mims, Virginia Union (JR)
OL - Andy Schoonover, Minnesota State-Mankato (SR)
OL - Michael Tribue, Carson-Newman (SR)

DL - Drew Berube, Hillsdale (SR)
DL - Junior Galette, Stillman (SR)
DL - William Green, Texas A&M-Commerce (SR)
DL - Eugene Sims, West Texas A&M (SR)
LB - Robbie Aurich, Minnesota-Duluth (JR)
LB - Prince Hall, Central Washington (SR)
LB - Lardester Hicks-Green, Delta State (SR)
DB - Myles Burnsides, Northwest Missouri State (SR)
DB - Pierre Desir, Washburn (FR)
DB - Terrence Johnson, California (PA) (SR)
DB - Ron Parker, Newberry (JR)

AP - Deante Steele, Shepherd (JR)
PK - Greg Zuerlein, Nebraska-Omaha (JR)
P - Joe Kok, Northeastern State (SR)


Honorable Mention

Billy Cundiff, Ashland (SR)
Zack Eskridge, Midwestern State (JR)
Nick Graziano, Arkansas Tech (SR)
Trevor Harris, Edinboro (SR)
Brad Iciek, Grand Valley State (SR)

Running Back
Rustin Dring, Nebraska-Kearney (SO)
Keithon Flemming, West Texas A&M (SR)
Quinn Porter, Stillman (SR)
Jonas Randolph, Mars Hill (SO)
Levi Terrell, Nebraska-Omaha (FR)

Wide Receiver
Mike Harris, Shippensburg (SR)
Cedric Houston, Missouri Western (SR)
Kyle Kaiser, Nebraska-Kearney (JR)
Mico McSwain, North Alabama (JR)
Blake Smolen, Grand Valley State (SR)
Johnny Spevak, Central Washington (SR)
Frantz Simeon, Arkansas Tech (SR)
Andy Tanner, Midwestern State (SR)

Tight End
DeMarco Cosby, Central Missouri (JR)
Galen Stone, Saginaw Valley State (SR)

Offensive Line
Cameron Bradfield, Grand Valley State (JR)
Tony Quirk, Central Washington (SR)
Ben Staggs, West Liberty State (SR)
Calvin Wilson, North Alabama (SR)
Torrence Wright, Arkansas Tech (SR)

Defensive Line
Marc Schiechl, Colorado School of Mines (JR)
Malcolm Jenkins, Elizabeth City State (JR)
Andre Bernardi, North Greenville (SR)
Tyler Roach, Northwest Missouri State (JR)
Jimmy Sadler-McQueen, Texas A&M-Kingsville (SR)
Willie Walker, California (PA) (SR)
Aston Whiteside, Abilene Christian (SO)

Matt Freed, East Stroudsburg (JR)
Chad Kilgore, Northwest Missouri State (SO)
Kaleb Lawrence, Glenville State (SR)
Sam Scott, West Chester (SR)
Justin Victor, Grand Valley State (JR)
Zach Watkins, Washburn (SR)
Nathan Yelk, Northern Michigan (SR)
Matt Zahoruiko, Bentley (SR)

Defensive Backs
J.D. Douglas, West Alabama (SR)
Giorgio Durham, Central Oklahoma (SO)
Tony Harp, Abilene Christian (SR)
Justin Hannah, Tuskegee (SR)
Josh Jones, Harding (SR)
Mario Russell, Carson-Newman (JR)

Trevar Deed, Delta State (JR)
Frederick Bruno, Wayne State (NE) (JR)

Place Kicker
Garrett Rolsma, Central Washington (SR)

Justin Hinson, North Carolina-Pembroke (JR)

No comments:

Search The News and Comment

The Web News and Comment

Blog Archive

Google Analytics