Tradition • Character • Service

Tradition • Character • Service

Monday, December 14, 2009

Veldheer and Berube named 2nd team Daktronics All-Americans, Cactus Bowl Invite News

Hillsdale College Release:

Drew Berube, Jared Veldheer named Second-Team All-American by Daktronics
Mark Petro, Berube to play at the Cactus Bowl
December 9, 2009 - Three members of the Hillsdale College football team will get to find out what January weather in Texas is like.

Seniors Drew Berube and Mark Petro have been selected to participate in the 2010 Cactus Bowl, scheduled for Jan. 8, 2010 in Kingsville, Texas. The Cactus Bowl is the Division II Football "All-Star Game," and features two teams made up of the best seniors from around the nation.

Veldheer will participate in the Texas vs. The Nation game, scheduled for Feb. 6 in El Paso, Texas. He was invited to participate in the Cactus Bowl, but will play in a different postseason game in Texas instead.

It is very rare for one team to have three players invited to a Cactus Bowl roster, but Hillsdale's heavy presence on the team underscores not only the skill level of those three players, but the high level of success achieved by the Charger program in 2009.

Hillsdale finished the season with a 10-3 record and qualified for the NCAA Division II playoffs for the first time. In their first trip, the Chargers won their first-round game, 27-24, on the road in overtime over Minnesota State-Mankato.

Petro, a First-Team All-GLIAC placekicker, holds Hillsdale College records for points in a career, extra points made in a career and field goals made in a career.

Berube and Veldheer were four-year starters on the defensive and offensive lines, respectively, for Hillsdale. Earlier Wednesday, both earned spots on the Daktronics 2009 Second-Team All-American list. Veldheer was a First-Team All-American selection by the AFCA earlier this week.

The Daktronics All-American teams are selected by Division II sports information directors around the country.

A total of eight Hillsdale College players have now been selected to play in the Cactus Bowl this decade. Previous Cactus Bowl participants included Silas Johnson (2003), Keith Recker (2007), Matt Vanover (2008) and Mark Nicolet (2008). Nicolet was named the MVP of the 2008 game.

Click on the links below for the 2010 Cactus Bowl webpage, along with the 2009 Daktronics Football All-American teams.

2010 Cactus Bowl

2009 Daktronics Football All-American Teams

No comments:

Search The News and Comment

The Web News and Comment

Blog Archive

Google Analytics